You are here

Dance on your head

Okwui Okpokwasili talks to Katharina Hausladen and Julia Pennauer


Wednesday, May 30, 2018, 17:00

okwui_okpokwasili6_c_caitlin_mccarthy_2014.jpg

×

Okwui Okpokwasili,Poor People’s TV Room SOLO, Foto: Caitlin McCarthy

The intermedia performances of the Bessie Award winning artist Okwui Okpokwasili delve into the vastness of the African diaspora once described by Paul Gilroy as the “black Atlantic”. Oral history meets necromancy in the realm between ecstasy, sadness and longing. A discussion about autonomously raising one’s voice in collective practices such as the Aba Women’s Riots and #BringBackOurGirls.

Poor People's TV Room SOLO, Okwui Okpokwasili’s performance will take place in the Gösserhallen on 1 June as part of Deep Friday #1. Admission is free. 


Okwui Okpokwasili is a performer, choreographer and author. She lives and works in Brooklyn, New York. Together with her artistic partner, Peter Born, she develops multidisciplinary performances that focus on personal and collective memory, body politics and space.

Katharina Hausladen is an art and cultural scientist. She lectures at various universities, currently at the Institute for Theatre, Film and Media Studies at the University of Vienna. She also works as a freelance critic and writes for testcard and Texte zur Kunst, among others.

Julia Pennauer is a dramaturg, author and cultural scientist with a queer and feminist focus. She is currently doing her doctorate on camp aesthetics at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna.

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Free admission

Sie sind hier

Dance on your head

Okwui Okpokwasili im Gespräch mit Katharina Hausladen und Julia Pennauer


Mittwoch, 30. Mai 2018, 17:00

okwui_okpokwasili6_c_caitlin_mccarthy_2014.jpg

×

Okwui Okpokwasili,Poor People’s TV Room SOLO, Foto: Caitlin McCarthy

Die intermedialen Performances der Bessie-Award-prämierten Künstlerin Okwui Okpokwasili führen in die Weiten der von Paul Gilroy einst als „Black Atlantic“ beschriebenen afrikanischen Diaspora. Im Zwischenreich von Ekstase, Trauer und Sehnsucht trifft Oral History auf Geisterbeschwörung. Ein Gespräch über das selbstbestimmte Erheben einer Stimme entlang kollektiver Praktiken wie der Aba-Frauenaufstände und #BringBackOurGirls.

Okwui Okpokwasilis Performance Poor People's TV Room SOLO, findet am 1. Juni im Rahmen des Deep Friday #1 bei freiem Eintritt in den Gösserhallen statt. 

Okwui Okpokwasili ist Performerin, Choreografin, Autorin. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Brooklyn, New York. In Zusammenarbeit mit ihrem künstlerischen Partner Peter Born entwickelt sie multidisziplinäre Performances, die sich mit persönlicher und kollektiver Erinnerung, Körperpolitik und Raum auseinandersetzen.

Katharina Hausladen ist Kunst- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin und unterrichtet an verschiedenen Hochschulen, derzeit am Institut für Theater-, Film- und Medienwissenschaft der Universität Wien. Als freie Kritikerin schreibt sie u.a. für testcard und Texte zur Kunst.

Julia Pennauer ist Dramaturgin, Autorin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin mit queerem und feministischem Schwerpunkt. Zurzeit promoviert sie über Camp-Ästhetiken an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien.

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Freie Teilnahme