You are here

Photo/Politics/Austria


Thursday, July 12, 2018 to Sunday, February 03, 2019

2018_photo_politics_austria_filmstill_1.april__0.png

×

Filmstill aus 1. April 2000, 1952 © Filmarchiv Austria

The exhibition Photo/Politics/Austria takes you on a photographic journey through Austrian history from 1918 to the present. This project is undertaken in cooperation with Photoinstitut Bonartes and shows around 100 works from the mumok photographs collection, and additional loans from national and international institutions.
Photo/Politics/Austria is an attempt to visualize Austrian history of the last 100 years using selected photos or photo series that show special events or situations. These include a postcard series of the fire at the Palace of Justice (1927), Friedl Dicker‘s socially critical collages (1931), Ernst Haas‘s Heimkehrer (1947), and Seiichi Furuya’s State Border (1981/83), images that are just as much part of a panorama of a turbulent history as Kiki Kogelnik’s Vienna Street Pictures (1967) or a screenshot of Hans Krankl in Cordoba (1978).
Film theorist Siegfried Kracauer compared the reality of the camera with reality as constructed through historical knowledge. Both media show the present as just one part of the whole. This exhibition Photo/Politics/Austria, designed by the artist Markus Schinwald, uses press photographs, interventions, newspaper cuttings, posters, and film stills as “head pictures” (Michael Diers), that complement and sharpen the “headlines” of the past.


Curated by Monika Faber und Susanne Neuburger

Tickets: € 12 / 9 / 8

Sie sind hier

Photo/Politics/Austria


Donnerstag, 12. Juli 2018 bis Sonntag, 03. Februar 2019

Die Ausstellung Photo/Politics/Austria unternimmt eine fotografische Zeitreise durch die österreichische Geschichte von 1918 bis zur Gegenwart. Das Projekt entsteht in Kooperation mit dem Photoinstitut Bonartes. Ausgehend von der Fotosammlung des mumok sind Leihgaben nationaler und internationaler Institutionen zu sehen.
Photo/Politics/Austria versucht, die österreichische Geschichte der letzten 100 Jahre aus ausgewählten Bildern oder Bildserien, die besondere Ereignisse oder Situationen zeigen, zu visualisieren: Eine Ansichtskartenserie des Justizpalastbrandes (1927), Friedl Dickers gesellschaftskritische Collagen (1931), Ernst Haas' Heimkehrer (1947) oder Seiichi Furuyas Staatsgrenze (1981/83) lassen sich ebenso als Teile des Panoramas einer wechselvollen Geschichte lesen wie Kiki Kogelniks Strassenbilder Wien (1967) oder ein Screenshot mit Hans Krankl in Cordoba (1978).
Der Filmtheoretiker Siegfried Kracauer verglich die Wirklichkeit der Kamera mit der durch historisches Wissen konstruierten Realität: Beide Medien geben die Gegenwart nur als Ausschnitt wieder. In der vom Künstler Markus Schinwald gestalteten Ausstellung Photo/Politics/Austria fungieren Pressefotografien, Interventionen, Zeitungsausschnitte, Plakate oder Filmstills als „Schlagbilder“ (Michael Diers), die die „Schlagzeilen“ vergangener Tage ergänzen und zuspitzen.


Kuratiert von Monika Faber und Susanne Neuburger

Ausstellungstickets: € 12,– / 9,– / 8,–