You are here

Avant-garde and Ruins

Panel discussion and film program in the context of the exhibition Nikita Kadan. Project of Ruins


Tuesday, September 10, 2019 to Wednesday, September 11, 2019

12_mumok_nikita-kadan-017.png

×

Ausstellungsansicht / exhibition view Nikita Kadan. Project of Ruins,  27. Juni bis 6. Oktober 2019 / June 27 to October 6, 2019, mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien
Photo: Klaus Pichler, © mumok

Tuesday, September 10, 7 pm: Panel discussion

The panel discussion is dedicated to the political paradoxes of Ukrainian art history, especially to the ways to speak about the period of avant-garde and modernist art of the 1910s to ’30s. Today the art history books and museum displays turned into battlefields of “memory wars.” The same monuments can be considered part of the national cultural heritage and, at the same time, “totalitarian symbols” that have to be destroyed or removed from public space according to “decommunization” laws. On the one hand, avant-garde as deeply political art still influences art-historical narration, while on other hand memory about avant-garde practices is influenced by actual politics. 

Participants:
Nikita Kadan, artist
Oksana Barshynova, art historian, Head of the Department for 20th- and 21st-Century Art at the National Art Museum of Ukraine
Evgeniya Molyar, art critic, member of the DE NE DE initiative
Stanislav Menzelevskyi (tbc), film scholar, Head of the Research Department of the Dovzhenko Film Centre  

Moderator:
Rainer Fuchs, Chief Curator, mumok

Wednesday, September 11, 7 pm: Film programm

mumok and the Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiev present two historical films by Ivan Kavaleridze:

Perekop, 1930, (40 min), silent movie with English subtitles
Prometheus, 1935, (83 min) sound film with English subtitles.

With an introduction by Stanislav Menzelevskyi, film scholar and director of the research department at the Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiev. Followed by a conversation with Nikita Kadan.


Perekop was made to mark the tenth anniversary of the victory of the Red Army over the White Army. The title refers to the city of the same name on the land bridge to the Crimea, where the battle took place. This final Red Army victory led to the existence of the Soviet Union being proclaimed. In Russian, the word “perekop” also means ditch or furrow. Kavaleridze plays with the double meaning when he refers in the film to the entrenched history of the early twentieth century: “In the future our life will be one single ‘perekope’ which we must skillfully aim towards and conquer, that is our life” (Kavaleridze). The film is characterized by bold contrasts between static block-like images and dynamic fragments with surprising perspectives.

Prometheus (1935) is a key work in the history of Ukrainian film in the 1930s. Kavaleridze tells the story of his own family. Ivas, a young farm laborer, is enlisted in the war and sent to the Caucasus. The landowner forces Ivas’s girlfriend to enter a brothel. Inspired by the heroic resistance of people from the mountains against the Russian army, Ivas returns to his place of birth and incites a rebellion there. When this film was shown representatives of the Stalinist regime criticized the artist as a formalist falsifying history and prohibited him from continuing his work in film and teaching for the next twenty years.

Ivan Kavaleridze (1887–1978)
1907 to 1909 studies at the Kiev Art Academy, 1909 to 1910 at the Imperial Academy of the arts in Saint Petersburg, 1910 and 1911 studies in the private studio of Naum Aronson in Paris. First work in film 1911. Worked from 1928 to 1941 as an artist, author and film director in film studios in Odessa and Kiev. From 1957 to 1962 film director at the Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiev. Active in implementing Lenin’s plan for monumental propaganda after the October Revolution and commissioned to make many monuments in Ukraine.

 

Free admission

Sie sind hier

Avant-garde and Ruins

Diskussion und Filmprogramm im Rahmen der Ausstellung Nikita Kadan. Project of Ruins


Dienstag, 10. September 2019 bis Mittwoch, 11. September 2019

12_mumok_nikita-kadan-017.png

×

Ausstellungsansicht / exhibition view Nikita Kadan. Project of Ruins,  27. Juni bis 6. Oktober 2019 / June 27 to October 6, 2019, mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien
Photo: Klaus Pichler, © mumok

Dienstag, 10. September, 19 Uhr: Diskussionsveranstaltung

Die Diskussionsveranstaltung widmet sich den politischen Paradoxa der ukrainischen Kunstgeschichte, insbesondere den Herangehensweisen an die Avantgarde und Moderne der 1910er- bis 1930er-Jahre. Mittlerweile sind Kunstgeschichtsbücher und Museumsdisplays zu regelrechten Schlachtfeldern der „Erinnerungskriege“ geworden. Ein und dasselbe Denkmal kann so als nationales Kulturerbe und zugleich als zu zerstörendes oder gemäß „Dekommunisierungsgesetz“ aus dem öffentlichen Raum zu entfernendes „Symbol des Totalitarismus“ gehandelt werden. Einerseits übt die Avantgarde als zutiefst politische Kunst nach wie vor großen Einfluss auf das kunsthistorische Narrativ aus, andererseits wird die Erinnerung an avantgardistische Praxis von der tatsächlichen Politik beeinflusst.

Teilnehmer_innen:
Nikita Kadan, Künstler
Oksana Barshynova, Kunsthistorikerin, Leiterin der Abteilung für Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts des Nationalen Kunstmuseums der Ukraine
Evgeniya Molyar, Kunstkritikerin, Mitglied der Initiative DE NE DE
Stanislav Menzelevskyi (tbc), Filmwissenschaftler, Leiter der Forschungsabteilung des Dovzhenko Film Centre 

Moderator:
Rainer Fuchs, Chefkurator, mumok
 

Mittwoch, 11. September, 19 Uhr: Filmprogramm

In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiew werden zwei historische Filme von Iwan Kawaleridse (engl.: Ivan Kavaleridze) gezeigt:

Perekop, 1930, (40 min), Stummfilm mit engl. Untertiteln
Prometheus, 1935, (83 min) Tonfilm mit engl. Untertiteln

Mit einer Einführung von Stanislav Menzelevskyi, Filmwissenschaftler sowie Leiter der Forschungsabteilung des Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiew und einem anschließenden Gespräch mit Nikita Kadan


Perekop wurde anläßlich des zehnten Jahrestages des Sieges der Rotarmisten über die Weiße Armee gedreht. Der Filmtitel bezieht sich auf die namensgebende Stadt an der Landbrücke zur Krim, wo die Schlacht stattfand. Hier wurde zugleich mit dem endgültigen Sieg der roten Armee auch die Existenz der Sowjetunion proklamiert. Im Russischen besitzt „perekop“ auch die Bedeutung von Graben und Furche. Kawaleridse selbst spielt mit dieser Doppelbedeutung, wenn er den Film auf die Gräben der Geschichte des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts bezieht: „In the future our life will be one single „perekope“ which we must skillfully aim towards and conquer, that is our life.“ (Kawaleridse) Bezeichnend für den Film ist die kühne Konfrontation von blockhaft statischen Bildern mit dynamischen Brüchen voller unerwarteter Perspektiven.

Prometheus (1935) ist eines der zentralen Werke der ukrainischen Filmgeschichte der 1930er Jahre. Kawaleridse erzählt darin die Geschichte seiner eigenen Familie: Ivas, ein junger Landarbeiter wird in den Krieg eingezogen und in den Kaukasus geschickt. Der Grundbesitzer zwingt indes Ivas Freundin in ein Bordell. Inspiriert vom heroischen Widerstand der Bergbewohner gegen die russische Armee, kehrt Ivas an seinen Geburtsort zurück und zettelt dort eine Rebellion an. Nach der Aufführung des Films brandmarkten die Vertreter des stalinistischen Regimes den Künstler als geschichtsverfälschenden Formalisten und verwehrten ihm für zwanzig Jahre die Fortsetzung seiner filmischen und pädagogischen Aktivitäten.

Iwan Kawaleridse (Ivan Kavalderidze) (1887–1978)
1907 bis 1909 Studium an der Kiewer Kunstschule, 1909 bis 1910 an der Kaiserlichen Akademie de Künste in Sankt Petersburg, 1910/1911 Studium am Privatatelier von Naum Aronson in Paris. Erste Filmarbeiten 1911. Von 1928 bis 1941 als Künstler, Autor und Regisseur in den Filmstudios von Odessa und Kiew tätig. Von 1957 bis 1962 Regisseur im Dovzhenko Film Centre in Kiew. Nach der Oktoberrevolution aktiv bei der Umsetzung von Lenins Plan der monumentalen Propaganda beteiligt und mit zahlreichen Denkmälern in der heutigen Ukraine beauftragt.

 

Freier Eintritt