You are here

Alfred Schmeller

The Museum as a Flashpoint


Friday, September 27, 2019 to Sunday, February 16, 2020

corapongracz_ausstellunglive_20erhaus_1970.png

×

Cora Pongracz, Ansicht der Ausstellung „Live“ im sogenannten 20er Haus, 1970, mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, © Nachlass Cora Pongracz, Fotosammlung OstLicht, Wien

When Alfred Schmeller became the second director of the 20er Haus—today’s mumok—in 1969, after Werner Hofmann left for Hamburg, he had already enjoyed a long and varied career. He was director of the Art Club and had worked as a critic for many years, before then working as the state art restorer for Vienna and the Burgenland.

In his collecting and exhibiting activities, Schmeller continued in the footsteps of Hofmann. Projects that wrote exhibition history during his era included The Vienna School of Fantastic Realism, Harald Szeemann’s legendary exhibition Bachelors’ Machines, and later Monte Verità and The Tendency toward the Total Work of Art. A major feature of Schmeller’s purchasing policy was the Chicago Imagists, whose work has been rediscovered in recent years. This was a loose group of artists who had studied at the Chicago Art School and were influenced by surrealism, art brut, comics, and pop culture.

Alfred Schmeller opened up the museum in many ways, He invited the Vienna Festwochen to hold their avant-garde festival Arena in the 20er Haus, and he was particularly committed to bringing young people into the museum, staging painting actions that were revolutionary at the time. In 1970 Schmeller used the slogan “The Prater is closed—come to the museum” to advertise the sensational Hüpfwiese (Jumping Field) by Haus-Rucker-Co in the exhibition Live. This exhibition will document the most important of Alfred Schmeller’s exhibitions and present important acquisitions he made, and also reconstruct this Hüpfwiese, which serves as a symbol for Schmeller’s new unorthodox approach to the museum. Visitors are expressly invited to make use of it.


Curated by Susanne Neuburger

Tickets: € 12 / 9 / 8

Sie sind hier

Alfred Schmeller

Das Museum als Unruheherd


Freitag, 27. September 2019 bis Sonntag, 16. Februar 2020

corapongracz_ausstellunglive_20erhaus_1970.png

×

Cora Pongracz, Ansicht der Ausstellung „Live“ im sogenannten 20er Haus, 1970, mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien, © Nachlass Cora Pongracz, Fotosammlung OstLicht, Wien

Als Alfred Schmeller 1969, nach Werner Hofmanns Abgang nach Hamburg, zweiter Direktor des 20er Hauses (heute mumok) wurde, hatte er bereits eine lange und ab- wechslungsreiche Karriere hinter sich: Er war Direktor des Art Club und hatte lange Jahre als Kritiker gearbeitet, bevor er schließlich als Landeskonservator für Wien und das Burgenland tätig war.

Projekte, mit denen das Haus in seiner Ära Ausstellungsgeschichte schrieb, waren: Wiener Schule des Phantastischen Realismus, Harald Szeemanns legendäre Ausstellung Junggesellenmaschinen, auf die später Monte Verità oder Der Hang zum Gesamtkunstwerk folgten. Ein Schwerpunkt von Schmellers Ankaufspolitik galt den Chicago Imagists, die in den letzten Jahren neu entdeckt wurden: eine lose Formation von Künstler_innen, die an der Chicago Art School studiert hatten und vom Surrealismus, von der Art Brut sowie von Comics und Populärkultur beeinflusst waren.

Schmeller öffnete das Haus in vielfacher Hinsicht: Er lud die Wiener Festwochen ein, im 20er Haus das Avantgardefestival Arena zu veranstalten und war vor allem bestrebt; die Jugend mit Malaktionen und anderen Veranstaltungen ins Haus zu holen – ein damals revolutionärer Ansatz. Sensationell war 1970 die Hüpfwiese von Haus-Rucker-Co in der Ausstellung Live, die Schmeller mit dem Slogan „Der Prater ist geschlossen. Kommen Sie ins Museum!“ bewarb. Neben der Dokumentation der bedeutendsten Ausstellungen Alfred Schmellers und der Präsentation wichtiger Ankäufe wird die Hüpfwiese als zentrales Element der Ausstellung rekonstruiert – Benutzung ausdrücklich erwünscht.


Kuratiert von Susanne Neuburger

Ausstellungstickets: € 12,– / 9,– / 8,–