You are here

Working on Abstraction


Wednesday, May 13, 2015, 19:00

The program of recent Austrian video works compiled by Brigitta Burger-Utzer is aimed at exemplifying how abstraction can be employed to construct multi-layered reference systems and associational spaces. Thus it seems as if photographic abstraction is coming to be used at precisely the point in time when highly developed technology make hyperrealistic images possible. A second group is made up of graphic and algorithmic  abstractions which have no inherent links to representational form. Using acoustic and optical elements to produce synesthetic experiences of this nature has lost none of its fascination. Indeed, it may sometimes seem that in the abstract domain there is a special need for individually programmed image and sound sources.

Film Program

dextro.org, video_65, 2014, 5 min
Michaela Grill, Into the Great White Open, 2014, 16 min
Billy Roisz, Dieter Kovacic, THE, 2015, 13 min
Rainer Kohlberger, moon blink, 2015, 10 min
Lia, Three Suns, 2013, 7 min


Followed by a talk with dextro.org, Michaela Grill, Rainer Kohlberger and Billy Roisz.
Introduced by Brigitta Burger-Utzer.

Brigitta Burger-Utzer lives in Vienna. Co-founder of sixpackfilm and its business manager since 1992.

dextro.org lives in Vienna. graphic designer for advertising agencies  and architectural practices. Since 2009 concerned with painting.

Michaela Grill lives in Vienna and Montreal. Since 1999 she has been making film and video works, installations, live visuals, performances and screenings. Outstanding Artist Award of the Federal Ministry of Education, Art and Culture (2010).

Rainer Kohlberger lives in Berlin. Video artist and media designer, develops room installations, live visualisations and mobile applications. ZKM App Art Award for artistic innovation (2011), Crossing Europe Local Artist Award (2013).

Billy Roisz lives in Vienna. Since the 1990s she has been intensively concerned  with the mediums of video and sound and the production of single screen works for the cinema. She is co-organizer of the annual REHEAT festival.

€ 6 / reduced € 4,50

Sie sind hier

Working on Abstraction


Mittwoch, 13. Mai 2015, 19:00

Das von Brigitta Burger-Utzer zusammengestellte Programm möchte anhand einiger Beispiele neuester österreichischer Videoarbeiten veranschaulichen, wie mit den Mitteln der Abstraktion vielschichtige Referenzsysteme und Assoziationsräume aufgebaut werden. So kommt etwa fotografische Abstraktion gerade zu einem Zeitpunkt zum Einsatz, wo aufgrund der hochentwickelten Technologie hyperrealistische Bilder möglich wären. Grafische und algorithmische Abstraktionen ohne repräsentative Verweise bilden eine zweite Gruppe. Ein derartiger Einsatz akustischer und optischer Elemente zur Produktion von synästhetischen Ereignissen hat seinen Reiz nicht verloren, ja scheint manchmal besonders im abstrakten Bereich nach digitalen, eigens programmierten Bild- und Soundquellen zu verlangen.

Filmprogramm

dextro.org, video_65, 2014, 5 min
Michaela Grill, Into the Great White Open, 2014, 16 min
Billy Roisz, Dieter Kovacic, THE, 2015, 13 min
Rainer Kohlberger, moon blink, 2015, 10 min
Lia, Three Suns, 2013, 7 min


Anschließend Gespräch mit dextro.org, Michaela Grill, Rainer Kohlberger und Billy Roisz.
Vorgestellt von Brigitta Burger-Utzer.

Brigitta Burger-Utzer lebt in Wien. Mitbegründerin von sixpackfilm, seit 1992 Geschäftsführerin.

dextro.org lebt in Wien. Grafiker u. a. für Werbeagenturen und Architekturbüros. Seit 2009 Auseinandersetzung mit Malerei.

Michaela Grill lebt in Wien und Montreal. Seit 1999 Film und Videoarbeiten, Installationen, Live Visuals, Performances und Screenings. „Outstanding Artist Award“ des Bundesministeriums für Unterricht, Kunst und Kultur (2010).

Rainer Kohlberger lebt in Berlin. Videokünstler und Mediengestalter, entwickelt Raum-Installationen, Live-Visualisierungen und mobile Applikationen. „ZKM App Art Award für künstlerische Innovation“ (2011), „Crossing Europe Local Artist Award“ (2013).

Billy Roisz lebt in Wien. Seit Ende der 1990er-Jahre intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den Medien Video & Sound; Produktion von Single-Screen-Arbeiten für das Kino. Sie ist Co-Organisatorin des alljährlichen REHEAT Festival.

€ 6,– / ermäßigt € 4,50