You are here

Speech Acts


Wednesday, April 27, 2016, 19:00

This program is based on Hannah Arendt’s paradigm of “action” as the core human activity. For Arendt, action is defined by language, communication, and the exchange of information. It determines social interaction and guides the ways in which people live together. Therefore it is crucial for the political subject and the political community. The mutual relations between language and performance, the constitution of the subject by means of language, and multiperspectivist forms of communication are the backdrop of the works shown in this program. A conscious mixing of artistic strategies and media like video, performance, dialog, or drawing within these works opens up spaces in which complex contexts can be presented or seemingly separate events, times, and logics can be placed in relation to each other. This program is a continuation of the exhibition of the same name that took place during the steirischer herbst 2015 at Forum Stadtpark in Graz.

Program

Elske Rosenfeld, A Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures, lecture performance, 2014, c. 30 min
Ricarda Denzer, Schwebendes (from the series Präsenz eines anderen Ortes / Ort einer anderen Präsenz), 2015, 17 min
Michael Baers, Outline of a Model of Influence, staged reading, 2015, c. 30 min
Sharon Hayes, Ricerche: three, 2013, 38 min


Curated and presented by Georgia Holz

Michael Baers is an American artist based in Berlin. His work combines text and drawings. Often but not exclusively he works with sequential graphics. His work spans many topics, linked by a concern with dialogical formats and depth models of research and inquiry. He completed his PhD at AkBild in 2014.

Ricarda Denzer is an artist and has been teaching at the University of Applied Arts Vienna since 2013. Her most recent works are the art project About the House and the accompanying books Silence Turned Into Objects – W.H. Auden in Kirchstetten (2014) and Perplexities (Revolver Verlag, 2013).

Sharon Hayes's art practice uses multiple mediums—video, performance, and installation—in ongoing investigation into various intersections between history, politics, and speech. Her work is concerned with developing new representational strategies that examine and interrogate the present political moment, not as a moment without historical foundation but as one that is always allegorical, a moment that reaches simultaneously backwards and forwards. To this aim, she employs conceptual and methodological approaches borrowed from artistic and academic practices such as theater, film, anthropology, linguistics, and journalism. Sharon Hayes lives and works in New York.

Elske Rosenfeld (born 1974, Halle/S.) lives and works in Berlin and Vienna and completed her PhD-in-Practice at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts in 2014. Her research is on the history of dissidence in Eastern Europe and the events of 1989 and 1990. In her current videos and performances, she investigates the body as the venue and archive of historical events, developing choreographies or interventions into the material abstracted from movements and gestures found in documents.

Georgia Holz is an art historian and works as a freelance curator in Vienna. From 2003–2005 she was curatorial assistant at the Kunsthalle Wien and from 2006–2015 assistant curator at Generali Foundation in Vienna. Her most recent curated exhibitions include Speech Acts. On Speaking as Political Action (2015), I Am Another World: Artistic. Authorship Between Desubjectification and Recanonization (with Claudia Slanar, 2013), and With a name like yours you might be any shape (with Claudia Slanar, 2012).

  • Supported by
€ 6,– / reduced € 4,50

Sie sind hier

Speech Acts


Mittwoch, 27. April 2016, 19:00
  • facebook
  • twitter

Das Programm nimmt Hannah Arendts Paradigma vom „Handeln“ als der zentralen der menschlichen Grundtätigkeiten zum Ausgangspunkt. Für Arendt ist das Handeln durch Sprache, Kommunikation und den Austausch von Information definiert; es determiniert soziale Interaktion und lenkt das Zusammenleben von Individuen. Somit ist es bestimmend für das politische Subjekt und die politische Gemeinschaft. Die wechselseitige Beziehung von Sprache und Performanz, die Konstituierung des Subjekts durch Sprache und multiperspektivische Formen von Kommunikation bilden die Folie für die gezeigten Arbeiten. Die bewusste Vermischung von künstlerischen Strategien und Medien wie Video, Performance, Dialog oder Zeichnung innerhalb der Arbeiten öffnet Räume, in denen komplexe Zusammenhänge vermittelt oder vermeintlich getrennte Ereignisse, Zeitlichkeiten und Logiken miteinander in Beziehung gesetzt werden können. Das Programm stellt eine Fortführung der gleichnamigen Ausstellung dar, die während des steirischen herbstes 2015 im Forum Stadtpark in Graz stattgefunden hat..

Programm

Elske Rosenfeld, A Vocabulary of Revolutionary Gestures, Lecture-Performance, 2014, ca. 30 min
Ricarda Denzer, Schwebendes (aus der Reihe Präsenz eines anderen Ortes / Ort einer anderen Präsenz), 2015, 17 min
Michael Baers, Outline of a Model of Influence, inszenierte Lesung, 2015, ca. 30 min
Sharon Hayes, Ricerche: three, 2013, 38 min


Kuratiert und vorgestellt von Georgia Holz

Michael Baers, geboren in den USA, lebt in Berlin. Seine Arbeiten kombinieren Text und Zeichnungen, oft, jedoch nicht ausschließlich in sequenziellen Bildformaten. Sein künstlerisches Interesse umfasst viele Bereiche, verbunden durch eine Auseinandersetzung mit dialogischen Formaten und Tiefenmodellen von Forschung und Recherche. 2014 PhD an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien.

Ricarda Denzer erforscht in unterschiedlichen Medien und methodischen Ansätzen die Bedingungen von Sprache sowie ihre gesellschaftliche Relevanz. Das Hören sowie die Materialität der Stimme als Schwellenphänomen und performativer Körper im Raum waren zuletzt zentral in ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit. Ricarda Denzer lehrt seit 2013 an der Universität für Angewandten Kunst in Wien, war 2015/2016 Šaloun Gastprofessorin der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Prag, 2013 realisierte sie das Kunstprojekt About the House und veröffentlichte das dazu erschienene Buch Silence Turned Into Objects – W. H. Auden in Kirchstetten (2014) sowie das Buch Perplexities (Revolver, 2013).

Sharon Hayes verwendet multiple Medien – Video, Performance und Installation – bei ihrer dauerhaften Untersuchung verschiedener Überschneidungen zwischen Geschichte, Politik und Sprechen. Sie versucht, neue Repräsentationsstrategien zu entwickeln, die den gegenwärtigen politischen Moment untersuchen und hinterfragen als einen, der zwar ein historisches Fundament besitzt, jedoch immer allegorisch ist, als einen Moment, der gleichzeitig nach hinten und nach vorne reicht. Dazu bedient sie sich konzeptueller und methodologischer Zugänge aus der künstlerischen und akademischen Praxis: Theater, Film, Anthropologie, Linguistik und Journalismus. Sharon Hayes lebt und arbeitet in New York.

Elske Rosenfeld, geboren 1974 in Halle (Saale), lebt und arbeitet in Berlin und Wien und hat 2014 ein PhD-in-Practice-Programm an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien abgeschlossen. Sie forscht zur Geschichte der Dissidenz in Osteuropa und zu den Ereignissen von 1989/1990. In ihren aktuellen Video- und Performancearbeiten untersucht sie den Körper als Austragungsort und Archiv historischer Erfahrungen und entwickelt aus in historischen Dokumenten vorgefundenen körperlichen Bewegungen und Gesten abstrahierte Choreografien oder Interventionen in das Material.

Georgia Holz ist Kunsthistorikerin und als freie Kuratorin in Wien tätig. Von 2003 bis 2005 war sie kuratorische Assistentin an der Kunsthalle Wien und von 2006 bis 2015 Assistenzkuratorin in der Generali Foundation in Wien. Zuletzt kuratierte Ausstellungsprojekte sind unter anderen Speech Acts. Vom Sprechen als politischem Handeln (2015), Ich bin eine andere Welt. Künstlerische AutorInnenschaft zwischen Desubjektivierung und Rekanonisierung (mit Claudia Slanar, 2013) und With a name like yours you might be any shape (mit Claudia Slanar, 2012).

  • Mit freundlicher Unterstützung
€ 6,– / ermäßigt € 4,50