You are here

Stefan Hayn

Wherefrom the Images? Whereto the Images?


Wednesday, May 11, 2016, 19:00

How do painting and film influence and relate to each other, and what is the relationship between personal experience and social and political developments? In Stefan Hayn’s artistic practice both forms of expression, or rather the mutual interplay of artistic and political action, merge organically in an emotional intensity. While What to put on top of Jack Smith’s Memorial Christmas Tree? is classed as an experimental film, in which Hayn  cross-wires the quest for sex and love with the practices of a collector, the two works Ein Film über den Arbeiter and Malerei heute can be described as eloquent parasites of the documentary. Both films place paid labor outside of the world of art (Hayn has worked in many places, including a pharmaceuticals plant, in the care of the old, sick, or dying, and in a printing company) within a larger economic, social, and pictorial context. The glut of images and the question as to what to do with these is the subject of Hayn’s most recent film DAHLIENFEUER, from which an excerpt will be shown. (Dietmar Schwärzler) (Dietmar Schwärzler)

Film program

Stefan Hayn, What to put on top of Jack Smith’s Memorial Christmas Tree?, 1992/1994, 7 min
Stefan Hayn, Ein Film über den Arbeiter, 1997, 18 min
Stefan Hayn, Anja-Christin Remmert, Malerei heute, 1998–2005, 61 min
Stefan Hayn, DAHLIENFEUER, 2016, ca. 10 min ((excerpt))


Followed by a conversation between Stefan Hayn and Dietmar Schwärzler

Stefan Hayn lives in Berlin. Since 1989 he has been making films that question artistic and filmic categories and resist all simple ascription. His work (films, paintings, essays) have been presented in numerous different artistic and film contexts. He has taught at the Berlin University of the Arts, focusing on the relationship between film and painting.

Dietmar Schwärzler lives in Vienna. He is a film and media presenter, free curator, and author. He works for sixpackfilm and is responsible for the contents behind the DVD label INDEX. He has planned and organized numerous film and exhibition projects. Among others, he edited the publication Friedl Kubelka vom Gröller: Photography and Film (2013) and co-edited Pink Labor on Golden Streets: Queer Art Practices (2015).

  • Supported by
€ 6,– / reduced € 4,50

Sie sind hier

Stefan Hayn

Woher die Bilder? Wohin die Bilder?


Mittwoch, 11. Mai 2016, 19:00

Wie bedingen sich Malerei und Film, in welchem Verhältnis stehen persönliche Erfahrungen und gesellschaftspolitische Entwicklungen? In der künstlerischen Praxis Stefan Hayns finden die beiden Ausdrucksformen bzw. die Wechselwirkung zwischen künstlerischem und politischem Handeln organisch und in einer affektiven Pointierung zueinander. Während What to put on top of Jack Smith’s Memorial Christmas Tree? als experimenteller Film gilt, in dem Hayn die Suche nach Sex und Liebe mit Sammlungspraktiken querschaltet, lassen sich Ein Film über den Arbeiter und Malerei heute als eloquente Parasiten des Dokumentarischen bezeichnen. In beiden Filmen wird außerkünstlerische Erwerbsarbeit – Hayn war u. a. in einer Pharmahandelsfabrik, in der Kranken- und Altenpflege (auch Sterbebegleitung) oder in einer Druckerei tätig – in einen größeren ökonomischen, sozialen und bildnerischen Zusammenhang gestellt. Den Überschuss an Bildern und die Frage, wohin damit, thematisiert Hayn in seinem jüngsten Film, DAHLIENFEUER, der als Ausschnitt vorgestellt wird. (Dietmar Schwärzler)

Filmprogramm

Stefan Hayn, What to put on top of Jack Smith’s Memorial Christmas Tree?, 1992/1994, 7 min
Stefan Hayn, Ein Film über den Arbeiter, 1997, 18 min
Stefan Hayn, Anja-Christin Remmert, Malerei heute, 1998–2005, 61 min
Stefan Hayn, DAHLIENFEUER, 2016, ca. 10 min (Ausschnitt)


Anschließend Gespräch zwischen Stefan Hayn und Dietmar Schwärzler

Stefan Hayn lebt in Berlin. Seine seit 1989 veröffentlichten Filme hinterfragen künstlerische sowie filmische Kategorisierungen und verweigern sich einfachen Genrezuschreibungen. Seine Arbeiten (Filme, Malerei, Essays) wurden in unterschiedlichen Kunst- und Filmkontexten präsentiert. Er lehrte an der Universität der Künste Berlin schwerpunktmäßig zum Verhältnis von Film und Malerei.

Dietmar Schwärzler lebt in Wien. Er ist Film- und Medienvermittler, freier Kurator und Schreiber. Mitarbeiter von sixpackfilm und programmverantwortlich für das DVD-Label INDEX. Konzept und Organisation zahlreicher Projekte im Film- und Ausstellungskontext. U. a. Herausgeber der Publikation Friedl Kubelka vom Gröller. Photography and Film (2013) und Co-Herausgeber von Pink Labor on Golden Streets. Queer Art Practices (2015).

  • Mit freundlicher Unterstützung
€ 6,– / ermäßigt € 4,50