SEARCH

mumok is closed until June 6, 2024 for renovation work.

All information about the renovation project and our alternative program can be found here.

mumok visits

Program 
During mumok Renovations 2024

mumok visits

During the renovation of the building, an extensive program with alternatives to the museum visit awaits you.

mumok visits: Studios
 

Together with Karola Kraus or the mumok curators, art lovers get a chance to visit the studios of artists from the mumok collection, including Liesl Raff, Sonja Leimer, Laurence Sturla, and Tobias Pils. These small-group tours offer an exclusive peek into the artists’ different working methods, creating a deeper understanding of the mumok collection.
 
 
 

  • mumok visits Tobias Pils
    Tuesday, March 5, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Dorit Margreiter Choy
    Tuesday, March 12, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Anita Witek
    Tuesday, May 28, 6 pm
    Sign up
     

mumok visits: digital
 

Along with the new website the participative collection-research and education project Ludwig goes digital! as well as the project Lerncommunities, sponsored by the Viennese Chamber of Labor, will present the first results of their work during the museum’s closure.

mumok visits: Institutions
 

The Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien opened its doors in 1962 as the Museum of the 20th Century (later 21er Haus) in the Schweizergarten. It was housed in the Austrian pavilion, which was originally conceived by Karl Schwanzer for the EXPO in Brussels in 1958. Head curator Rainer Fuchs (he oversaw the museum’s relocation into MuseumsQuartier in 2001) and Luisa Ziaja (head curator of the Belvedere) will show participants the place where mumok was founded.

1979 saw the opening of Palais Liechtenstein in the 9th district of Vienna, which was rented as a second exhibition venue due to a lack of space at 20er Haus. There will be a guided tour with head curator Rainer Fuchs. 

In the gardens and interiors of Schloss Buchberg, artists conceive site-specific works in an exciting interplay with the historic architecture and the surrounding landscape. In recent years, the artists were selected in a close collaboration between the collectors Gertraud and Dieter Bogner and the director and curators of mumok. 
A visit to the Christian Hauer Collection is also planned. Chief curator Eva Badura-Triska will give a guided tour of the Vienna Actionism Museum, which houses works on loan from the mumok collection.

Furthermore, we will visit foundations representing important artists of the mumok collection, such as the Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation and the Maria Lassnig Foundation.
 
 
 

  • mumok visits Palais Liechtenstein
    Tuesday, February 27, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Maria Lassnig Privatstiftung
    Tuesday, March 19, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Franz West Privatstiftung
    Tuesday, April 2, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Sammlung Christian Hauer
    Tuesday, April 9, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Philipp Fleischmann
    Schule Friedl Kubelka für unabhängigen Film
    Tuesday, April 16, 6 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Schloss Buchberg
    Saturday, May 4, 3 pm
    Sign up
     
  • mumok visits Wiener Aktionismus Museum
    Tuesday, May 14, 6 pm
    Sign up
     

mumok visits: Public Spaces
 

The city of Vienna invigorates public spaces with permanent and temporary artistic projects. These spaces thus become places of sociopolitical and cultural debate. In the coming months, mumok will be conducting walking tours with artists from the mumok collection and mumok curators or art educators to view selected public artworks. One of the stops will be the train station in Meidling, where Christian Kosmas Mayer is currently realizing an 80-meter-long installation. 

We are also planning tours of public spaces associated with our museum, its history, and the works and artists in our collection. This thematic bridge connects the dots between various events from the city’s history as well as seemingly distant occurrences like the Habsburg Brothers’ Quarrel or the Vienna Walk.
 

  • mumok visits Christian Kosmas Mayer
    Tuesday, May 21, 6 pm
    Sign up here

mumok visits: Schools
 

During the five-month closure, mumok’s educational programs are continued in a series of innovative formats. The art education team closely collaborates with Viennese schools, focusing on basic digital education by offering coding workshops on the subject of AI.

mumok visits: scratch Lab
 

Established in 2020, the successful hybrid educational format based on computer programming as well as current teaching and learning research is continued during the closure period (in the form of in-house visits at the library and the photo studio).

Find dates and more Information here.

mumok visits: Social Facilities
 

From February to May 2024, there will be creative workshops in cooperation with the Göttlicher Heiland hospital for all interested patients. The project aims to convey information about the works in the mumok collections and to employ creative means to explore various artistic techniques. Among other things, this is to give patients an opportunity to improve their wellbeing through creative self-expression and making new acquaintances.

SUCHE

Das mumok ist bis 6. Juni 2024 wegen Sanierungsarbeiten geschlossen.

Alle Informationen zum Sanierungsprojekt und zu unserem Alternativprogramm finden Sie hier.

mumok visits

Programm 
während der Sanierung 2024

mumok visits

Während der Sanierung des Hauses erwartet Sie ein umfangreiches Programm mit Alternativen zum Museumsbesuch.

mumok visits: Atelier
 

Gemeinsam mit Karola Kraus beziehungsweise den Kurator*innen des mumok werden Künstler*innen, von denen sich Werke in der mumok Sammlung befinden wie z. B. Liesl Raff, Sonia Leimer, Laurence Sturla oder Tobias Pils in ihren Ateliers besucht. Diese Termine in Kleingruppen ermöglichen exklusive Einblicke in die vielfältigen Arbeitsweisen der jeweiligen Künstler*innen und schaffen Verständnis für die mumok Sammlung.
 
 

mumok visits: digital

 

Neben der neuen Website, die mit der Schließung online ging, präsentieren das partizipative Sammlungsforschungs- und -vermittlungsprojekt Ludwig goes digital! sowie von der Arbeiterkammer Wien geförderte Lerncommunities während der Schließzeit erste Ergebnisse ihrer Arbeit. Hier finden Sie alle Informationen zu den Förderprojekten.

mumok visits: Institution
 

Das Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien wurde 1962 als Museum des 20. Jahrhunderts (später 21er Haus) im Schweizer Garten eröffnet. Untergebracht war es im ursprünglich von Karl Schwanzer 1958 für die EXPO in Brüssel erbauten Österreich-Pavillon. Eine Führung mit Chefkurator Rainer Fuchs (er leitete 2001 die Übersiedlung des mumok ins MuseumsQuartier) und Luisa Ziaja (Chefkuratorin des Belvedere) führt an den Gründungsort des Museums.
1979 erfolgte die Eröffnung des Palais Liechtenstein im 9. Bezirk, das aus Platzmangel als zweites Ausstellungsgebäude des mumok neben dem 20er Haus angemietet worden war. Eine Führung mit Chefkurator Rainer Fuchs.
 

In den Gärten und Innenräumen von Schloss Buchberg entwickeln Künstler*innen im spannungsvollen Wechselspiel mit der historischen Architektur und der umgebenden Landschaft ortsspezifische Arbeiten. Die Auswahl der Künstler*innen erfolgte in den letzten Jahren in einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Sammlerpaar Gertraud und Dieter Bogner und der Direktorin sowie den Kurator*innen des mumok.

Geplant ist auch ein Besuch der Sammlung Christian Hauer. Chefkuratorin Eva Badura-Triska führt durch das Wiener Aktionismus Museum, in dem sich Leihgaben aus der mumok Sammlung befinden.

Weiters werden Stiftungen besucht, die bedeutende Künstler*innen der mumok Sammlung repräsentieren wie u. a. die Österreichische Friedrich und Lilian Kiesler-Privatstiftung oder die Maria Lassnig Stiftung.
 

mumok visits: öffentlicher Raum
 

Die Stadt Wien belebt den öffentlichen Raum mit permanenten und temporären künstlerischen Projekten. Dadurch wird dieser Raum zum Ort gesellschaftspolitischer und kultureller Debatten. In den nächsten Monaten finden gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen der mumok Sammlung und Kurator*innen bzw. Kunstvermittler*innen des mumok Spaziergänge zu ausgewählten Kunstwerken im öffentlichen Raum statt. So wird unter anderem der Meidlinger Bahnhof besucht, wo Christian Kosmas Mayer derzeit eine 80 Meter lange Installation realisiert.

Weiters sind Führungen im öffentlichen Raum geplant, die Bezüge zum mumok als Ort in der Stadt, seiner Geschichte und den in der Sammlung vorhandenen Kunstwerken und Künstler*innen herstellen. Der thematische Brückenschlag verknüpft unterschiedliche Ereignisse aus der Stadtgeschichte und verbindet auch scheinbar weit auseinanderliegendes wie Habsburgs Bruderzwist und den Wiener Spaziergang.
 

mumok visits: Schule
 

Während der fünfmonatigen Schließung des Hauses werden die Bildungsangebote des mumok durch eine Reihe innovativer Formate fortgeführt. Hier arbeitet das Team der Kunstvermittlung vor allem im Bereich der digitalen Grundbildung in fortlaufenden Programmierworkshops zum Thema KI eng mit Wiener Schulen zusammen. Das Projekt wird maßgeblich von der Arbeiterkammer Wien unterstützt

mumok visits: scratch Lab
 

Das seit 2020 erfolgreiche hybride Bildungsformat auf Basis kreativer Computerprogrammierung und aktueller Lehr- und Lernforschung wird auch während der Schließzeit entsprechend weitergeführt (Inhouse-Besuche finden in der Bibliothek und im Fotoatelier statt).

Hier geht es zu den Terminen und mehr Informationen.

mumok visits: Soziale Einrichtungen
 

In Kooperation mit dem Krankenhaus Göttlicher Heiland wird es für interessierte Patient*innen im Zeitraum von Februar bis Mai 2024 Kreativworkshops geben. Ziel dieses Projekts ist, den Teilnehmer*innen Wissen über die in der Sammlung des mumok befindlichen Werke zu vermitteln und gemeinsam auf kreative Weise künstlerische Techniken zu erproben. Für die Patient*innen soll so unter anderem eine Verbesserung des Wohlbefindens durch kreativen Selbstausdruck und das Knüpfen neuer Kontakte ermöglicht werden.