You are here

show/hide filter

Volltextsuche

  • Sylvia Sleigh

Paul Rosano in Jacobsen Chair

1974
Oil on canvas
51.97 inch x 55.91 inch x 1.18 inch
Schenkung Estate of Sylvia Sleigh Alloway/donation by Estate of Sylvia Sleigh Alloway 2016
Inventory number: MB 93/0

A naked young man is sitting relaxed in a red armchair. He looks somewhat bored or indifferent to the fact that his portrait is being painted. Here Sylvia Sleigh painted one of her favorite models, Paul Rosano, a thin dark-haired man about whom we know nothing, although he often appears in her paintings. In this work, he has settled down in one her red “egg chairs.” It seems that both the painter and her model quite like this chair by Danish designer Arne Jacobsen, as it appears in a large number of Sylvia Sleigh’s portraits and self-portraits.
This 1974 portrait is one of a series of male and female nudes that the New York artist painted. She cited from famous female nudes by male artists such as Titian, Giorgione, Ingres, and Manet. But she painted naked men instead of naked women—and of course now it was a woman and not a man who was doing the painting. The result is gender-reversed versions of classic works from art history. But Sylvia Sleigh did not reduce her female or her male models to the function of muse or mistress. Her relations with them seems very amicable and relaxed, with no stereotypes from tradition in which the naked person is presented as available to the artist’s voyeuristic gaze. Sleigh said: “I wanted to give my perspective, portraying both sexes with dignity and humanism,” and “it was very necessary to do this because women had often been painted as objects of desire in humiliating poses. I don’t mind the ‘desire’ part, it’s the ‘object’ that’s not very nice.”

Sylvia Sleigh was also an active feminist in realms beyond her own art. In 1972 she cofounded A.I.R. Gallery, a gallery run by women for women, providing space for women artists in New York to present their work professionally. Then as today, the commercial galleries were dominated by male artists.

Sie sind hier

Filter ein-/ausblenden

Volltextsuche

  • Sylvia Sleigh

Paul Rosano in Jacobsen Chair

Paul Rosano im Jacobsen Sessel

1974
Öl auf Leinwand
132,00 cm x 142,00 cm x 3,00 cm
Schenkung Estate of Sylvia Sleigh Alloway/donation by Estate of Sylvia Sleigh Alloway 2016
Inventarnummer: MB 93/0

Entspannt sitzt der nackte junge Mann in einem roten Sessel. Er schaut halb gelangweilt, halb gelassen vor sich hin, während er porträtiert wird. Sylvia Sleigh malte hier eines ihrer Lieblingsmodelle, Paul Rosano, einen dunkelhaarigen jungen, schmal gebauten Mann, über dessen Identität nichts bekannt ist, der aber immer wieder in ihren Bildern auftaucht. Er hat es sich bei ihr zu Hause in einem ihrer roten „egg chairs“ bequem gemacht. Für diesen Sessel des Designers Arne Jacobsen, so scheint es, hatten die Malerin und ihre Modelle eine besondere Vorliebe. In vielen Porträts und Selbstporträts malte sie das Möbelstück des dänischen Designers.
Dieses Porträt aus dem Jahr 1974 gehört zu einer Serie von männlichen und weiblichen Akten der in New York lebenden Malerin. Darin paraphrasierte sie oft auch berühmte weibliche Akte von männlichen Künstlern wie Tizian, Giorgione, Ingres oder Manet. Aber: Sie tauschte die nackten Frauen gegen nackte Männer aus. Und natürlich den Maler gegen die Malerin. So entstanden genderumgekehrte Versionen klassischer Werke der Kunstgeschichte. Allerdings reduzierte Sylvia Sleigh weder ihre weiblichen noch männlichen Aktmodelle auf die Rolle von Musen oder Mätressen. Das Verhältnis scheint freundschaftlich, ungezwungen und vermeidet Stereotype der Darstellungstraditionen, in denen das nackte Gegenüber mit voyeuristischem Blick als „verfügbar“ dargestellt wird. Sie selbst sagte einmal: “I wanted to give my perspective, portraying both sexes with dignity and humanism.” Und: “It was very necessary to do this because women had often been painted as objects of desire in humiliating poses. I don’t mind the ‘desire’ part, it’s the ‘object’ that’s not very nice.”
Auch außerhalb ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit war Sylvia Sleigh feministische Aktivistin. 1972 war sie Mitbegründerin der A.I.R. Gallery, einer Galerie von Frauen für Frauen, die Künstlerinnen in New York einen Raum für die professionelle Präsentation ihrer Arbeiten gab. Die kommerzielle Galerienszene wurde damals wie heute von männlichen Künstlern dominiert.