You are here

Channelling spirits of resistance

Dohee Lee talks to Anna Barfuss and Anke Dyes


Thursday, June 07, 2018, 17:00

dohee_lee_2_c_pak_han_klein.jpg

×

Dohee Lee, MU/巫, Foto: Pak Han

Dohee Lee’s work as an artist can be traced back to Jeju Island, the South Korean “Island of the Goddesses” that is famed for its original matriarchal structures. The shamanism practised by the women informs a performative and musical tradition that vividly recalls scenes of colonial and misogynistic violence – to counter it, but also to heal injuries suffered. Can patriarchal and colonial power relations be exorcised?

Dohee Lee’s performance ritual MU/巫 will take place in the Gösserhallen on Friday, 15 June as part of Deep Friday #3. Admission is free.

Dohee Lee, born on Jeju Island, South Korea, is a performance artist. She studied Korean dance, singing and percussion, and has been living and working in Oakland, California since 1998. In her multidisciplinary work she combines traditional practices rooted in shamanism with contemporary art forms and emphasises the mythical, experimental, ritualistic, theatrical and healing aspects of art.

Anna Barfuss is an artist and is currently writing about feminist voices and resistive embodiments of gender in music and moving images at the Academy of Fine Arts. In 2017 she received a studio scholarship from the Federal Chancellery of Austria, allowing her to work in London.

Anke Dyes is an artist and cultural scientist. From 2016 to 2018 she was an editor at Texte zur Kunst and is currently doing her doctorate on performance discourses at the Academy of Fine Arts.

 

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Free admission

Sie sind hier

Channelling spirits of resistance

Dohee Lee im Gespräch mit Anna Barfuss und Anke Dyes


Donnerstag, 07. Juni 2018, 17:00

dohee_lee_2_c_pak_han_klein.jpg

×

Dohee Lee, MU/巫, Foto: Pak Han

Dohee Lees künstlerische Arbeiten führen zurück auf die ursprünglich von matriarchalen Strukturen geprägte Insel Jejudo, die südkoreanische „Insel der Göttinnen“. Der dort von Frauen ausgeübte Schamanismus inspiriert eine performative und musikalische Praxis, die eindringlich Schauplätze kolonialer und misogyner Gewalt in Erinnerung ruft – um ihr entgegenzutreten, aber auch um entstandene Verletzungen zu heilen. Können patriarchale und koloniale Machtverhältnisse exorziert werden?

Dohee Lees Performanceritual MU/巫 findet am Freitag, 15. Juni im Rahmen des Deep Friday #3 bei freiem Eintritt in den Gösserhallen statt.

Dohee Lee, geboren auf der koreanischen Insel Jejudo, ist Performance-Künstlerin. Sie studierte koreanischen Tanz, Gesang und Perkussion und lebt und arbeitet seit 1998 in Oakland, Kalifornien. In ihrem multidisziplinären Schaffen verbindet sie im Schamanismus wurzelnde, traditionelle Praktiken mit zeitgenössischen Kunstformen und betont die mythischen, experimentellen, ritualistischen, theatralen und heilenden Aspekte von Kunst.

Anna Barfuss ist Künstlerin und schreibt derzeit an der Akademie der bildenden Künste über feministische Voices und widerständige Verkörperungen von Geschlecht in Musik und Bewegtbild. 2017 Atelierstipendium des BKA in London.

Anke Dyes ist Künstlerin und Kulturwissenschaftlerin. Von 2016 bis 2018 war sie Redakteurin bei Texte zur Kunst und promoviert derzeit an der Akademie der bildenden Künste über Performancediskurse.

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Freie Teilnahme