You are here

The body as social sculpture

A Lecture by Cassils


Thursday, June 14, 2018, 17:00

cassils3_becoming_an_image_performance_still_no_5_national_theater_st.jpg

×

Cassils, Becoming an Image, National Theater Studio SPILL Festival, London, 2013

With targeted, strictly disciplined strength training, Cassils makes their own body the protagonist of their performances, and contemplates the history(s) of violence, representation, struggle and survival. Drawing from the idea that bodies are formed in relation to social expectations, Cassils speaks about past works and their starting points, development processes and historical contexts.

Cassils, performance artist, bodybuilder and transgender icon, lives and works in Los Angeles. Using their own body as artistic material, Cassils processes influences from feminism, body art and hyper-masculine, homoerotic aesthetics. Cassils eludes binary gender categories and understands and embodies transgender not as a crossing from one gender to another, but rather as a continual process of becoming, as a form of embodiment that works in a space of indeterminacy and ambiguity.

Cassils’s performance Becoming an Image will take place in the Gösserhallen on Friday, 15 June as part of Deep Friday #3. Admission is free. Selected video works will be presented in the Gösserhallen from 13 to 16 June.

 

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Free admission

Sie sind hier

The body as social sculpture

Eine Lecture von Cassils


Donnerstag, 14. Juni 2018, 17:00

cassils3_becoming_an_image_performance_still_no_5_national_theater_st.jpg

×

Cassils, Becoming an Image, National Theater Studio SPILL Festival, London, 2013

Mit gezieltem, streng diszipliniertem Krafttraining macht Cassils den eigenen Körper zum Protagonisten seiner*ihrer Performances, an dem die Spuren der Geschichte(n) von Gewalt, Repräsentation, Kampf und Überleben sichtbar werden. Ausgehend von der Idee, dass Körper in Bezug auf gesellschaftliche Erwartungshaltungen geformt werden, spricht Cassils in einer Lecture über vergangene Arbeiten, deren Ausgangspunkte, Entstehungsprozesse und historische Kontexte.

Cassils Performance Becoming an Image findet am Freitag, 15. Juni im Rahmen des Deep Friday #3 bei freiem Eintritt statt. Ausgewählte Videoarbeiten sind von 13. bis 16. Juni in den Gösserhallen zu sehen.

Cassils, Performance Artist, Bodybuilder*in und Transgender-Ikone, lebt und arbeitet in Los Angeles. Mit dem eigenen Körper als künstlerisches Material verarbeitet Cassils Einflüsse aus Feminismus, Body Art und hyper-maskuliner, homoerotischer  Ästhetik. Cassils entzieht sich binären Gender-Kategorien und versteht und verkörpert Transgender nicht als Wechsel von einem Geschlecht in das andere, sondern als kontinuierlichen Prozess des Werdens, als eine Form von Verkörperung, die sich in einem Bereich des Unbestimmten und Uneindeutigen bewegt.

  • In Kooperation mit den Wiener Festwochen
Freie Teilnahme