You are here

Andy Warhol APPetizer – Skull

mumok collects


At the moment you can unfortunately not experience the exhibition ANDY WARHOL EXHIBITS a glittering alternative live. To shorten the time until the museums open a little, here is a small sample from our mumok APP.

The mumok's multimedia guide can be accessed free of charge via iOS and Android, so you can also take a tour of the exhibitions from home. Have fun!
 

Andy Warhol, Skull

„To paint a skull is to do the portrait of everybody in the world“, Ronnie Cutrone, an assistant of Andy Warhol remarked. Aside from glamour and star cult, which surrounded Andy Warhol, the most famous Pop artist like no one else, there is a hidden, less known dark dimension: the presence of death. “All I’m doing is connected to death” Warhol famously said. Beginning with the Disaster Paintings of the early Sixties which address the catastrophes of consumer society and their media exploitation the subject of death runs through his entire work. This includes the famous paintings of his icons Marilyn Monroe and Jackie Kennedy, created shortly after Marilyn’s death and the murder of John F. Kennedy respectively up to the series of sculls in 1976.

In Skull Warhol places the insignia of death at the centre of his painting with unconcealed directness. The slightly opened mouth and the deep set, shaded eye sockets lend an eerie expressivity to the skull. The roundedness of the composition and the blithe gestural use of garish poppy colours come in as a contradictory element. The subject might well be reminiscent of numerous memento mori depictions in the history of art, yet Warhol does not symbolically elevate death. The Skull series goes into what mass culture is overtly avoiding: Feelings of anonymity, desperation and fear of death.

Sie sind hier

Andy Warhol APPetizer – Skull

mumok collects


Im Moment können Sie die Ausstellung ANDY WARHOL EXHIBITS a glittering alternative leider nicht live erleben. Um die Zeit bis zur Öffnung der Museen etwas zu verkürzen, hier eine kleine Kostprobe aus unserer mumok APP.

Der Multimediaguide des mumok ist über iOS und Android kostenlos abrufbar und so können Sie auch von zuhause aus einen Rundgang durch die Ausstellungen unternehmen. Viel Spaß!

Gratis-Download im iTunes App Store und im Google Play Store erhältlich.

 

 

Andy Warhol, Skull

„Einen Schädel zu malen, heißt jeden Menschen dieser Erde zu porträtieren“, bemerkte Ronnie Cutrone, ein Assistent Andy Warhols. Hinter dem Glamour und Starkult, der Andy Warhol, den berühmtesten Pop Art Künstler, wie keinen anderen umgab, verbirgt sich eine weniger bekannte, düstere Dimension: die Präsenz des Todes. Beginnend mit den Desaster-Bildern der frühen 1960er-Jahre, die die Katastrophen der Konsumgesellschaft und ihre mediale Ausschlachtung thematisieren, über die berühmten Bilder seiner Ikonen Marylin Monroe und Jackie Kennedy, die kurz nach dem Tod Marylins, beziehungsweise nach der Ermordung von John F. Kennedy entstanden, bis hin zur Serie der Totenschädel von 1976, durchzieht das Sujet des Todes sein gesamtes Werk.

In Skull setzte Warhol die Insignie des Todes mit unverhohlener Direktheit ins Bild. Der leicht geöffnete Mund und die tiefliegenden, verschatteten Augenhöhlen verleihen dem Schädel eine unheimliche Expressivität. Im Widerspruch dazu steht die Ausgewogenheit der Komposition und der unbekümmerte gestische Einsatz knallig poppiger Farben. Das Sujet mag zwar an zahlreiche Memento Mori Darstellungen der Kunstgeschichte erinnern, doch erfährt der Tod bei Warhol keine symbolische Überhöhung. Die Schädelserie verweist auf das eigentlich nicht Darstellbare in der Massenkultur: auf Anonymität, Verzweiflung und Tod.