You are here

show/hide filter

WOMAN

FEMINIST AVANT-GARDE of the 1970ies from the SAMMLUNG VERBUND Collection

Wednesday, March 08, 2017

  • facebook
  • twitter

From May 2017, mumok is presenting more than 300 artworks from the SAMMLUNG VERBUND collection that show how women artists in the 1970s first began to collectively redefine their own image of woman. As this significant artistic movement has been neglected in art histories to date, the collection director, Gabriele Schor, coined the term ”feminist avant-garde” and introduced it into art-historical discourse—with the aim of highlighting these artists’ pioneering work. This thematic exhibition at mumok and a comprehensive scholarly catalogue both contribute to expanding the male dominated avant-garde canon.

In the 1970s women artists emancipated themselves from the roles of muse and model, rejecting their status as objects in order to assert themselves as subjects actively participating in social and political processes. One-dimensional role ascriptions as mothers, homemakers, or wives were radically challenged—often using strategies of irony. Key themes were the discovery of female sexuality, the use of women’s own bodies, countering clichés and stereotypical images of women, the dictate of beauty, and creating awareness for violence against women. The women artists of this generation were united in their committed rejection of traditional normative notions of how women were expected to live. “It is exciting to see that these artists developed comparable strategies of the image, even though they did not all know each other,” Gabriele Schor explains. 

The exhibition is divided into four sections: 
The Reduction to Mother, Housewife, and Wife
Alter Ego: Masquerade, Parody, and Roleplays 
Female Sexuality versus Objectification 
The Normativity of Beauty

“It is important and fortunate for both the city of Vienna and mumok to be able to show these works on the feminist avant-garde from the SAMMLUNG VERBUND collection. These works complement mumok’s own collection with its focus on socially relevant art of the 1960s, such as Vienna Actionism—a movement that was implemented entirely by men. Here, many questions and issues were raised that were to play a role in the 1970s with a new and broader perspective—this time in developments that were largely implemented by women. In their works, they formulate answers to the ways in which men approached their work as artists. I am delighted to be able to present this significant collection at mumok,” says mumok general director Karola Kraus. 

This exhibition is not a women’s exhibition, but a thematic exhibition. It brings together artists born between 1930 and 1958. There is a total of 48 European, North and South American artists, including eight Austrians: Renate Bertlmann (born 1943), Linda Christanell (born 1939), VALIE EXPORT (born 1940), Birgit Jürgenssen (1949–2003), Brigitte Lang (born 1953), Karin Mack (born 1940), Friederike Pezold (born 1945), and Margot Pilz (born 1936).

Sie sind hier

Filter ein-/ausblenden

WOMAN

FEMINISTISCHE AVANTGARDE der 1970er-Jahre aus der SAMMLUNG VERBUND

Mittwoch, 08. März 2017

  • facebook
  • twitter

Ab Mai 2017 zeigt das mumok mit über 300 Kunstwerken aus der SAMMLUNG VERBUND, wie Künstlerinnen in den 1970er-Jahren kollektiv und zum ersten Mal ein eigenes Bild der Frau kreierten. Da diese wichtige künstlerische Bewegung in der Kunstgeschichte bisher zu wenig Beachtung fand, prägte Sammlungsdirektorin Gabriele Schor den Begriff „Feministische Avantgarde“ und brachte ihn in den kunsthistorischen Diskurs ein, um die Pionierleistung dieser Künstlerinnen hervorzuheben. Ziel der Themenausstellung im mumok und des umfassenden wissenschaftlichen Katalogs ist es, den männlich dominierten Kanon der Avantgarden zu erweitern.

In den 1970er-Jahren emanzipierten sich die Künstlerinnen von der Rolle als Muse und Modell, das heißt, sie emanzipierten sich von ihrem Objektstatus hin zu einem selbstbestimmten Subjekt, das aktiv an gesellschaftlichen und politischen Prozessen teilnimmt. Die stereotypen Rollenzuweisungen als Mutter, Haus- und Ehefrau wurden mit den Mitteln der Ironie radikal hinterfragt. Zentrale Themen waren: die Entdeckung weiblicher Sexualität, der Einsatz des eigenen Körpers, das Aufbrechen stereotyper Frauenbilder, das Diktat der Schönheit sowie das Schaffen eines Bewusstseins für Gewalt gegen Frauen. Die Ablehnung tradierter, normativer Vorstellungen davon, wie eine Frau zu leben hat, verbindet das Engagement der Künstlerinnen dieser Generation. „Es ist spannend zu beobachten, dass die Künstlerinnen, ohne sich alle untereinander zu kennen, doch ähnliche Bildstrategien wählten“, erklärt Schor. 

Die Ausstellung gliedert sich in vier Bereiche: 
Reduktion auf Mutter, Hausfrau und Ehefrau
Alter Ego: Maskerade, Parodie und Rollenspiele 
Weibliche Sexualität versus Verdinglichung 
Normativität der Schönheit 

„Für Wien und das mumok ist es sehr wichtig und ebenso erfreulich, die von der SAMMLUNG VERBUND zusammengetragenen Bestände zum Thema Feministische Avantgarde der 1970er-Jahre zeigen zu können. Diese bilden eine Ergänzung zu den Sammlungen unseres Hauses, die einen Schwerpunkt im Bereich der gesellschaftsbezogenen Kunst der 1960er-Jahre haben, wie den Wiener Aktionismus als eine ausschließlich von Männern getragene Bewegung. Hier wurden bereits viele Fragen und Thematiken angesprochen, in den 1970er-Jahren unter neuen, erweiterten Blickwinkeln eine Rolle spielen sollten – Entwicklungen, die wiederum in hohem Maße von Frauen getragen wurden. Mit ihren Werken formulierten sie Antworten auf die Herangehensweise der Männer. Ich freue mich daher außerordentlich, diese bedeutende Sammlung im mumok präsentieren zu können“, so Generaldirektorin Karola Kraus. 

Die Ausstellung ist keine Frauenausstellung, sondern eine Themenausstellung. Sie vereint Künstlerinnen, die in den Jahren zwischen 1930 und 1958 geboren sind. Unter den insgesamt 48 europäischen, nord- und südamerikanischen Künstlerinnen sind acht Österreicherinnen: Renate Bertlmann (* 1943), Linda Christanell (* 1939), VALIE EXPORT (* 1940), Birgit Jürgenssen (1949–2003), Brigitte Lang (* 1953), Karin Mack (* 1940), Friederike Pezold (* 1945) und Margot Pilz (* 1936).