You are here

show/hide filter

Villa Design Group: The Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts

Grand Opening and Performance on February 11, 2015, 8 pm


From February 2015, mumok is presenting on four levels one of the world’s most significant holdings of Pop Art—the collection of the German industrialists Peter and Irene Ludwig. In this extensive overview, around 100 works from seven different institutions associated with the Ludwigs will be brought together. Among the most important acquisitions by Peter and Irene Ludwig were Claes Oldenburg’s Mouse Museum and Ray Gun Wing, created around the same time by the artist. These two key works of Pop Art will be shown in a prominent place on mumok’s highest level. While Ray Gun Wing looks at the gun in its various manifestations, Mouse Museum is a walk-in “museum” in the shape of a geometrical Mickey Mouse, for which Oldenburg collected consumer goods, souvenirs, kitsch objects, mementos, and studio models since the 1950s. A synthesis of trivial culture and the standards of a museum is the starting point for the contemporary contribution to this exhibition by Villa Design Group, founded in 2011 at Goldsmiths College (Than Hussein Clark, James Connick, and William Joys). In parallel to Ludwig Goes Pop, Villa Design is opening a pop-up museum at mumok—the Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts (BNCA). With a view to Oldenburg’s major work, Villa Design Group also designs a spectacular master plan for a museum. The architectural setting installed on mumok level 3 refers to an ocean liner of the kind that traveled between Europe and the USA up to the 1960s.

Villa Design Group’s paraphrase of a museum focuses on the Romanian-French film producer, director, actor, and first gay porn star, Bernard Natan, who was murdered in Auschwitz in 1942. As the owner of the Pathé film company he was one of the world’s most successful film producers in the 1930s. Between 1929 and 1935 around 70 feature films were made in his studio. He also imported Walt Disney’s Mickey Mouse to Europe. While Pop Art moves between high and low culture, Villa Design Group introduces a further level by choosing a controversial and fascinating figure from the queer subculture of the 193s as the star of their narrative.

On February 11, at the opening of the Ludwig Goes Pop exhibition, the BNCA will also be officially opened. Villa Design Group will be performing music, dance, and newly arranged songs from musicals in the museum. 

Published

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Sie sind hier

Filter ein-/ausblenden

Villa Design Group: The Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts

Feierliche Enthüllung mit Performance am 11. Februar 2015, 20 Uhr


Ab Februar 2015 zeigt das mumok auf vier Ebenen einen der weltweit bedeutendsten Bestände der Pop Art: die Sammlung des deutschen Industriellen-paars Peter und Irene Ludwig. In der groß angelegten Überblicksausstellung werden rund 100 Werke aus sieben Häusern zusammengeführt, die mit ihrem Namen verbunden sind. Einer der wichtigsten Ankäufe von Peter und Irene Ludwig waren Claes Oldenburgs Mouse Museum und der zeitlich parallel dazu entstandene Ray Gun Wing. Diese zwei Hauptwerke der Pop Art werden prominent auf der obersten Ebene des mumok präsentiert. Verhandelt der Ray Gun Wing die Waffe in ihren verschiedensten Ausformungen, ist das Mouse Museum ein begehbares „Museum“ in Form einer geometrisierten Mickey Mouse, für das Oldenburg seit den späten 1950er-Jahren Konsumwaren, Souvenirs, Kitschobjekte, Mitbringsel und Ateliermodelle sammelte. Die Synthese aus Trivialkultur und musealem Anspruch ist Ausgangspunkt für den zeitgenössischen Ausstellungsbeitrag der 2011 am Goldsmiths College gegründeten Villa Design Group (Than Hussein Clark, James Connick und William Joys). Während der Laufzeit von Ludwig Goes Pop eröffnet sie ein Pop-up-Museum im mumok: das Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts (BNCA). Mit Blick auf Oldenburgs Hauptwerk entwirft auch die Villa Design Group einen spektakulären Masterplan für ein Museum. Das auf Ebene 3 des mumok eingebaute Architektursetting bezieht sich auf Ozeandampfer, wie sie bis in die 1960er-Jahre zwischen Europa und den USA verkehrten.

Im Zentrum ihrer Museumsparaphrase steht der rumänisch-französische Produzent, Regisseur und Schauspieler und erste homosexuelle Pornodarsteller Bernard Natan, der 1942 in Auschwitz ermordet wurde. Als Inhaber der Pathé-Filmgesellschaft war er in den 1930er-Jahren einer der erfolgreichsten Filmproduzenten weltweit. Zwischen 1929 und 1935 entstanden in seinem Studio rund 70 Spielfilme. Er war es auch, der Walt Disneys Mickey Mouse nach Europa importierte. Verhandelt die Pop Art zwischen Hoch- und Trivialkultur, führt die Villa Design Group eine weitere Ebene ein, indem sie mit Natan eine schillernde Figur aus der queeren Subkultur der 1930er-Jahre als Star ihrer Erzählung in Stellung bringt.

Am 11. Februar, dem Eröffnungsabend der Ausstellung Ludwig Goes Pop, wird auch das BNCA feierlich enthüllt. Die Villa Design Group lädt aus diesem Anlass zu einer Performance mit Musik, Tanz und neu arrangierten Musicalsongs in das Museum im Museum ein. 

Veröffentlicht

Mittwoch, 11. Februar 2015