You are here

show/hide filter

Symposium

FEMINIST AVANT-GARDE

Friday, April 21, 2017

  • facebook
  • twitter

In conjunction with the exhibition WOMAN. FEMINIST AVANT-GARDE of the 1970s from the SAMMLUNG VERBUND Collection, mumok and the SAMMLUNG VERBUND are hosting a conference on Saturday May 6, 2017, from 2 pm. Sixteen of the artists with works in the exhibition will be present. In the 1970s, these artists, from the USA, Canada, and Europe, were among the most provocative voices in contemporary art, and their socially critical works still resonate today.

In the 1970s, these artists began for the first time to create their own collective image of women, emancipating themselves from the roles of muse or model and from woman’s status as object. These artists saw women and themselves as self-determined subjects actively participating in social and political processes. They radically challenged stereotypical definitions of women as mother, housewife, and wife—often with a great deal of irony. Key concerns were the “discovery” of women’s sexuality, the use of their own bodies in art, breaking down stereotypical images of women, challenging the dictates of beauty, and creating awareness for violence against women. These women artists of this generation shared a commitment to rejecting traditional and normative ideas of how women should live their lives.

The symposium will be introduced by Gabriele Schor, founding director of the SAMMLUNG VERBUND, with a talk entitled Why Is It Important to Call the Feminist Art Movement in the 1970s an “Avant-garde.” Schor coined the term “feminist avant-garde” so as to emphasize the pioneering nature of the work of these artists. This introductory lecture is followed by three panel discussions with several artists represented in the exhibition, moderated by mumok curator Eva Badura-Triska, by Camille Morineau, director of Monnaie de Paris and president at AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions, and by Gabriele Schor.

This symposium is a unique opportunity to hear the thoughts of influential women artists from nine nations on the situation of women in the 1070s, the feminist movement, and their own personal approaches and experiences. 

Participants

Eva Badura-Triska, Anneke Barger, Renate Bertlmann, Linda Christanell, Renate Eisenegger, Kirsten Justesen, Suzy Lake, Brigitte Lang, Karin Mack, Camille Morineau, ORLAN, Ewa Partum, Margot Pilz, Ulrike Rosenbach, Gabriele Schor, Lydia Schouten, Annegret Soltau, and Martha Wilson. 

Zur Ausstellung

Sie sind hier

Filter ein-/ausblenden

Symposium

FEMINISTISCHE AVANTGARDE der 1970er-Jahre

Mittwoch, 08. März 2017

  • facebook
  • twitter

Anlässlich der Ausstellung WOMAN. FEMINISTISCHE AVANTGARDE der 1970er-Jahre aus der SAMMLUNG VERBUND richten das mumok und die SAMMLUNG VERBUND am Samstag, 6. Mai 2017, ab 14 Uhr ein Symposium mit 15 der in der Ausstellung vertretenen Künstlerinnen aus. Die Künstlerinnen aus den USA, Kanada und Europa zählten in den 1970er-Jahren zu den provokantesten Stimmen der zeitgenössischen Kunst und haben bis heute nachwirkende, gesellschaftskritische Kunstwerke geschaffen.

In den 1970er-Jahren haben diese Künstlerinnen in der Geschichte der Kunst erstmals kollektiv ein neues Bild der Frau kreiert. Sie emanzipierten sich von der Rolle als Muse und Modell, das heißt, sie emanzipierten sich von ihrem Objektstatus hin zum selbstbestimmten Subjekt, das aktiv an gesellschaftspolitischen Prozessen teilnimmt. Die stereotype Zuweisung der Rolle der Frau als Mutter, Haus- und Ehefrau wurde mit Ironie radikal hinterfragt. Zentrale Anliegen waren: die Entdeckung der weiblichen Sexualität, der Einsatz des eigenen Körpers, das Aufbrechen stereotyper Frauenbilder, das Diktat der Schönheit zu hinterfragen sowie ein Bewusstsein für Gewalt gegen Frauen zu schaffen. Die Ablehnung tradierter, normativer Vorstellungen davon wie eine Frau zu leben hat, verbindet das Engagement der Künstlerinnen dieser Generation.

In das Symposium führt Gabriele Schor, Gründungsdirektorin der SAMMLUNG VERBUND, mit ihrem Vortrag Warum ist es wichtig, die feministische Kunstbewegung der 1970er-Jahre eine ‚Avantgarde’ zu nennen? ein. Schor prägte den Begriff „Feministische Avantgarde“, um die Pionierleistung dieser Künstlerinnen hervorzuheben. Es folgen drei Diskussionsrunden mit zahlreichen Künstlerinnen der Ausstellung, die jeweils von mumok Kuratorin Eva Badura-Triska, von Camille Morineau, Direktorin Monnaie de Paris und Präsidentin AWARE: Archives of Women Artists, Research and Exhibitions sowie Gabriele Schor moderiert werden.

Das Symposium bietet die einmalige Gelegenheit, prägende Künstlerinnen aus neun Nationen über die Situation der Frau in den 1970er-Jahren, die feministische Bewegung, ihren persönlichen Zugang wie ihre Erfahrungen und ihre Kunst sprechen zu hören. 

Zur Ausstellung