You are here

show/hide filter

Ludwig Goes Pop


From February 2015, mumok is presenting on four levels one of the world’s most significant holdings of Pop Art—the collection of the German industrialists Peter and Irene Ludwig. In this extensive overview, around 100 works from seven different institutions associated with the Ludwigs will be brought together. Exhibits from the Museum Ludwig Cologne, the Ludwig Forum for International Art, Aachen, the Ludwig Museum in the Deutschherrenhaus Koblenz, the Kunstmuseum Basel, the Ludwig Múzeum in Budapest, the Ludwig Museum for International Art in Beijing, and mumok will be on show in Vienna to September 2015.

Pop Art was quicker than any other art movement of the twentieth century to gain entrance to art markets, and was widely exhibited and enthusiastically received as soon as it began to emerge on the scene in the USA. Peter and Irene Ludwig first discovered American Pop artists in the mid-1960s, when this movement was still largely unknown in Germany. It was only with presentations at the 1964 Biennale di Venezia and documenta 4 (1968) in Kassel that Pop Art became known to a broader European audience. The Ludwigs were interested in those artists who are today seen as the legendary protagonists of Pop Art: Jim Dine, Robert Indiana, Jasper Johns, Roy Lichtenstein, Claes Oldenburg, Robert Rauschenberg, James Rosenquist, Andy Warhol, and Tom Wesselmann. Their early sense for the significance of these works led to the largest Pop Art collection outside the USA. For the Ludwig Goes Pop exhibition at mumok in 2015, the Ludwig collection will be brought together from its various homes in European museums for the first time and thus be seen as a whole. Books, records, and films of the time will complement the exhibition and place the works within a larger social context.

Ludwig Goes Pop will be accompanied by a parallel mumok exhibition of the work of David Lieske, and based on Lieske’s suggestion, the British Villa Design Group will comment on Pop Art from today’s perspective. On Level 3 of the museum, they will set up their Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts, with a direct view of Claes Oldenburg’s Mouse Museum (1960–1977) and Ray Gun Wing (1961–1977), pursuing a museum master plan that is just as spectacular as Oldenburg’s major works. 

Published

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Sie sind hier

Filter ein-/ausblenden

Ludwig Goes Pop


Ab Februar 2015 zeigt das mumok auf vier Ebenen einen der weltweit bedeutendsten Bestände der Pop Art: die Sammlung des deutschen Industriellenpaars Peter und Irene Ludwig. In der groß angelegten Überblicksausstellung werden rund 100 Werke aus sieben Häusern zusammengeführt, die mit dem Namen des deutschen Sammlerpaars verbunden sind. Exponate aus dem Museum Ludwig, Köln, dem Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst, Aachen, dem Ludwig Museum im Deutschherrenhaus Koblenz, dem Kunstmuseum Basel, dem Ludwig Múzeum, Budapest, sowie dem Ludwig Museum für internationale Kunst, Peking, und dem mumok sind bis September 2015 in Wien zu sehen.

Schneller als jede andere Kunstrichtung des 20. Jahrhunderts setzte sich die Pop Art auf dem Kunstmarkt durch und wurde gleich nach ihrem Auftauchen vielfach und unter großem Publikumsandrang in den USA ausgestellt. Peter und Irene Ludwig begannen Anfang der 1960er-Jahre die Kunst amerikanischer Pop-Art-KünstlerInnen für sich zu entdecken – zu einer Zeit, als man diese Kunstrichtung in Deutschland kaum kannte. Erst mit Auftritten auf der Biennale di Venezia 1964 und der documenta 4 (1968) in Kassel wurde die Pop Art auch in Europa einem breiten Publikum bekannt. Das Interesse des Ehepaars Ludwig betraf jene Künstler, die heute als legendäre Protagonisten der Pop Art gelten: Jim Dine, Robert Indiana, Jasper Johns, Roy Lichtenstein, Claes Oldenburg, Robert Rauschenberg, James Rosenquist, Andy Warhol und Tom Wesselmann. Ihrem Gespür für die Bedeutung dieser Künstler ist die größte Sammlung amerikanischer Pop Art außerhalb der USA zu verdanken.

Für die Ausstellung Ludwig Goes Pop im mumok wird der auf verschiedene Häuser in Europa aufgeteilte Bestand des Sammlerpaars 2015 erstmals wieder zusammengeführt und somit exemplarisch darstellbar. Bücher, Schallplatten und Filme der Zeit ergänzen die Ausstellung und betten die Werke in einen größeren soziologischen Kontext ein.

Auf Vorschlag von David Lieske, dessen Personale Platoon (RL-X) parallel zu Ludwig Goes Pop im mumok zu sehen ist, kommentiert die britische Villa Design Group die Pop Art aus zeitgenössischer Perspektive. Mit Blick auf das Mouse Museum (1960–1977) und den Ray Gun Wing (1961–1977) von Claes Oldenburg richtet sie auf Ebene 3 des mumok ihr Bernard Natan Centre for the Arts ein, das einem ähnlich spektakulären Masterplan für ein Museum wie Oldenburgs Hauptwerke folgt.

Veröffentlicht

Donnerstag, 22. Januar 2015